Prior to tying the knot, Rodriguez told Cosmopolitan that dating LoCicero was a “new experience” for her. “Because I put myself first,” the Jane the Virgin alum explained. “For so long, I put every man in front of me. As a successful woman, it is so hard because of our cultural norms that, like, the man has to be the breadwinner! And the man has to be the more powerful one. It was so difficult for me to find a man who didn’t want me to dim my light for his ego" So, who is the rom-com star’s leading man offscreen? Continue reading to learn more about Gina Rodriguez’s husband, Joe Locicero:

Who is Gina Rodriguez’s husband?

LoCicero is an actor whose credits include The Bold and the Beautiful and Just Swipe. He also appeared on his wife’s show Jane the Virgin, as well as the films Miss Bala and Someone Great, both of which starred Rodriguez. LoCicero is not only an actor, but also a Muay Thai fighter. In 2018, he became the new WCK Middleweight California Amateur Muay Thai Champion. At the time, he penned on Instagram: “I didn’t want to turn 30 without a #muaythai belt.”

How did Gina Rodriguez meet her husband?

The couple met in 2016 on the set of The CW’s Jane the Virgin. “He came on as a stripper that my mother hired for my bachelorette party and Jane is, like, super against it and super terrified and just, like, doesn’t know what to do with all that. But Gina does,” the Golden Globe-winning actress recalled during a 2019 appearance on TheTonight Show. “I met him like six months later in the boxing gym after we shot together and it was the boxing gym that brought [us] together.” Speaking to Bust Magazine in 2017, Rodriguez revealed that she didn’t recognize LoCicero the second time she saw him. “He came in through the door and I was like ‘Good God!’ and I fell into his eyeballs,” she shared. “On the fourth day [that we saw each other at the gym], he asked me out, and I have been dating him ever since. Now I know what it means to date your best friend.”

When did Gina Rodriguez and her husband get engaged?

Rodriguez and LoCicero got engaged in 2018. The Miss Bala star confirmed her engagement that August to PEOPLE, telling the magazine: “He’s the best. He’s the f—- best. We’ve been engaged for like a month — I’ve kept it a secret for a while.” “I don’t even really want to say it’s happening,” she added. “I just want to live! I think there’s a huge blessing in the fact that people care. That’s a beautiful thing, so that feels really good. But another part of me wants to keep a little something that’s just mine, ’cause there’s not too many things I have like that anymore.”

When did Gina Rodriguez get married?

The pair tied the knot in May 2019. Rodriguez announced the happy news with a video from their wedding day. “With that one kiss we got 100 new family members” my 9 year old niece, Mia ❤️Thank you to my mother in law for the wedding of my dreams. And the village that helped her! Special thank you to our soul brother @justinbaldoni and to my new brother Michael @mikelosaurusrex for singing me down the aisle. Mike, you have the voice of an angel. Love to our Videographers: @harrisonfilms To the greatest wedding planner, Laura @coutureconceptsny The genius behind the gorgeous flowers, Akvile @florasavenue And to our friend and brilliant Photographer: @sylvain_vincent May 4th, 2019 was absolute MAGIC. To my husband Joseph, I am yours forever. ❤️,” she captioned the post.

Where was Gina Rodriguez’s wedding?

Rodriguez and her husband exchanged vows in an outdoor ceremony. A year before the nuptials, Yahoo Entertainment reported that the groom’s mother had suggested that the wedding take place is Huntington, Long Island, where LoCicero is from. It’s unclear where the ceremony took place, but Couture Concepts NY, a NY-based event planning & design company, is credited with planning the wedding. Rodriguez also taggedMarciano’s Pizza Truck, from Long Island, and Sugar Lane Cake Shop, also from Long Island, in her wedding announcement.

What has Gina Rodriguez said about having kids?

The Hollywood star has previously spoken about her desire to start a family. In a 2020 interview with Access Hollywood, she said, “I’m getting older you know like I gotta maybe start trying.” “There’s a lot of children that need homes. That’s another thing we’ve been discussing, too, because I am a bit older, and that’s okay. That’s okay,” Rodriguez continued. “That conversation also has been happening. I want a family. Family’s everything.”

Did Gina Rodriguez date Justin Baldoni?

Rodriguez and Justin Baldoni’s characters, Jane Villanueva and Rafael Solano, dated and spoiler alert got married on Jane the Virgin, which premiered in 2014. Baldoni, who got engaged to his now-wife Emily Baldoni in 2013, seemingly had a special role at his co-star’s wedding to LoCicero. The actress’ onscreen baby daddy appeared to be officiating the ceremony in a wedding video shared by Rodriguez. In the caption, she wrote: “Special thank you to our soul brother @justinbaldoni.” Next, Laugh and Swoon With the 75 Best Romantic Comedies of All Time

Who is Gina Rodriguez s Husband  All About Joe LoCicero - 24