The show, created by Chris Van Dusen, paid tribute to Marc Pilcher and Carole Prentice, who both passed away prior to the Season 2 premiere (March 25). Continue reading to learn more about the individuals who worked on the show watched and beloved by millions…

Who was Carole Prentice?

Prentice is credited as a COVID-19 coordinator on the show. Her son Sebastian Prentice told the UK’s Metro that his late mom “was a very avid Bridgerton fan. She was so excited that she was working on Bridgerton. She made good friends and I think she impacted a lot of people in a short time.” Her celebration of life in London was reportedly attended by several members of the Bridgerton crew.

When did Carole Prentice die?

The late Bridgerton crew member past away in January 2022 at the age of 61. Prentice’s son revealed to Metro that she died due to post-surgery related complications. Sebastian admitted that his mother’s death “took everyone by surprise.” Sebastian is said to have been aware that Bridgerton was planning on honoring his mom. He said, “I was so happy to see that. I shouted. I was so proud. She really deserved that, you know? Someone who poured her heart and soul into it. She really did deserve that recognition. I was overjoyed, I was so so happy to see that.” Prentice’s tribute is featured at the end of the Season 2 finale.

Who was Marc Pilcher?

Pilcher was a hair and make-up designer in Season 1. In 2021, he accepted the Emmy for Period And/Or Character Hairstyling for Bridgerton at the 2021 Creative Arts Emmys. “This was just the most exciting project for me to work on, to create for all of our beautiful cast,” Pilcher said in his speech. “I just want to say thank you. Thank you.” Off stage, he later gave his dog Yuri a sweet shout-out. “Most of all, I wanted to thank my two-year-old cockapoo, Yuri, who I got when I was starting this job and he’s the love of my life and I’ve had to leave him at home in England. So, I can’t wait to be back with my baby, my dog.” Pilcher was nominated for Best Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling in Mary Queen of Scots at the 2019 Academy Awards.

When did Marc Pilcher die?

Pilcher died of COVID-19 in October 2021. “It is with the deepest of hearts we confirm that Marc Elliot Pilcher, Academy Award nominee and Emmy Award winning hair and makeup designer/stylist, passed away after a battle with COVID-19 on Sunday 3rd October 2021,” his representatives at Curtis Brown said in a statement via Deadline. “He was 53, double vaccinated with no underlying health condition.” Following news of his passing, Bridgerton star Nicola Coughlan, who plays Penelope Featherington on the show, took to Instagram to remember Pilcher. “So heartbroken by the loss of Marc Pilcher, the brilliant and visionary Hair and Makeup designer for Bridgerton Season One. Marc was so passionate about his work and so tremendously talented. Not even a month ago he won his first Emmy award. It’s a tragedy that he’s been taken so young when he had so much yet to do,” she wrote. Coughlan continued: “Please also use this as a reminder that Covid is still a very real and present danger, please get vaccinated and mask up to protect yourself and others. My heart goes out to his friends and family, especially to his wonderful team @lyndajpearcemua @loumua @adamjamesphillips @holliewilli4ms @tyatyambo @allbeautydestroyedmua @claireematthews1 He loved and cared for you all so much and my heart goes out to you all. Rest in Peace Marc .” Next, what we know about Bridgerton Season 3.

Who Did  Bridgerton  Dedicate the First and Last Episodes of Season 2 to  - 38