“I thought it was remarkable that you didn’t do what people expect you to do to get a four-chair turn,” Kelly tells Avery. “You didn’t rail everywhere. You kept it you. It sounded so beautiful and intimate. The storyteller vibe was the best part for me and your tone is incredible.” But The Cowboy tried to win Avery over by pointing out that while Kelly may have grown up on country music, she walked away from it. “I, on the other hand, grew up on country music and that is all I have ever done,” Blake says. “I just celebrated my 10th year as a member of the Grand Ole Opry, and I am the only person on this panel who knows who sings the song that you just sang. It’s important to have a concrete understanding of country music, because you can’t know where it’s going unless you know where it came from. I have to be your coach, Avery. I would be honored. I would be proud.” Then Nick tries to take the wind out of Blake’s sails by pointing out, “I think it’s bizarre that every time a country artist comes out here, you say the same thing about, ‘I know the song,’ and you do. But imagine if a pop artist came out and we said, ‘We’re the only ones capable of coaching this person, because we know pop music.’ I get your point, but I want to hear from [Avery] what kind of music you want to do, what kind of music you want to sing.” “I actually started singing pop because my voice was too high when I was little,” Avery says. “About my sophomore year in high school, it started going down a little bit. My dad and my grandad always did country music. I’ve always loved country music. That’s where I am now.” Kelly saw an opening in what Avery said, so she jumped in, pointing out, “Then a coach who has lived in pop and in country might be a great coach for you.” But Nick wasn’t giving up. He really wants Avery on his team. “As a songwriter, I reference songs that are inspiring to me and a lot of times, it is country music,” he explains. “I have been lucky enough now to work with Thomas Rhett, Dan + Shay and Shania Twain, and who knows, maybe we will be able to write together some day. I don’t think it matters where you’re from, whatever the genre is, it’s music at the end of the day. You do you, man. I’ll support you every step of the way.” Then John finally spoke, “Avery, I know I’m not the obvious choice for a country artist, but I turned for you before any of the other coaches because I heard a beautiful, beautiful voice. The tone is rich, subtle, and that’s what this show is about. Finding great voices to be heard by the rest of the country. I turned for you because I love great music and I love coaching great vocalists. So, I would love to be your coach.” Avery admits, “I would love to work with any of y’all. Y’all are amazing, but I have to go with my gut on this one. I am going to go with Blake." The Voice airs Monday night at 8 p.m. ET/PT on NBC to find out. Next, See Blake Shelton’s Funniest Moments from 10 Years on The Voice

Watch Avery Roberson s Four Chair Turn Audition for The Voice   Exclusive The Voice Spoilers - 48