Kenzie performed the old-school country song, “He Stopped Loving Her Today” made famous by George Jones and one of his grandmother’s favorites, and he aced his performance. Nick Jonas told him, “You’ve got one of those wonderfully classic voices. This whole set-up was so enjoyable. This whole journey you’ve had has been so fun to watch. I was watching how jealous Blake [Shelton] is every time you perform that Kelly got you on her team.” And why would Blake be jealous? Because Kelly used her one Block to make sure that Kenzie wouldn’t go to Team Blake during the Blind Auditions. In addition to his voice, Kenzie has his mother to thank for his success on The Voice, because she is the one who filled out the application. “My mom has always been one of my biggest supporters and she’s always helped me through so much with music and through life,” he told Parade.com on a Zoom call after the show last night. “I put this off for a while. I always wanted to give The Voice, a try, a shot, I guess this past year was the time. She helped me put it together, so I sent the video in and here we are.”

What would it mean to you to win The Voice?

I want to win The Voice because of what it could do to my future, my music, and getting signed to a label, and going out and showing the world my voice. That’s really what it’s all about. It’s a great experience and I’ve loved every second of it.

Do you think it would change your life?

It is a great thing to start off with and then you continue on your way, whether you make it to the end or not, and try to continue your career as best you can and try to follow your dreams. That’s what it is all about. We all love doing this, and we want to give it our best after the show and keep going with it.

Kelly is the only coach that has done what you’re doing: gone through a competition and won. So, she knows the importance of song selection. What has she taught you? And does she know country music?

I can say now, yes, she does know country music. You want to pick songs that you can relate to so much, like when I sang “Red Dirt Road.” I can relate to that song so much. Growing up in my hometown where I am from, obviously, I love country music. It’s what I grew up listening to and what I’ve gotten from her along the way, working with Kelly.

Your mullet is your signature, would you ever cut your hair?

That’s a good question. It is somethin’ that I was, “I’m going to grow my hair.” My dad had long hair for long time and a couple of buddies grew mullets, so I was like, “I’m going to grow a mullet.” It is my trademark now, like you said, on the show and to America, so I don’t think I can ever cut it off.

Now that you’ve worked with Kelly for a while, what might surprise people to know?

She’s very down-to-earth, a great person. The Voice airs Monday and Tuesday nights at 8 p.m. ET/PT on NBC. Next, every singer who has died since competing on The Voice.

The Voice s Kenzie Wheeler Reveals Why Chose  He Stopped Loving Her Today  for His Final Song - 71