Original: November 16, 2021: After judging Dancing with the Stars’ semifinal live and in-person on Monday night, Tuesday morning Derek Hough announced the news that he has been diagnosed with a breakthrough case of COVID via a video on his Instagram account. The Emmy-winning choreographer said, “I have some news to share, and I wanted you to hear it straight from me. Even though I’ve been fully vaccinated, I have just been diagnosed with a breakthrough case of COVID. I just found out. I feel OK. I feel strong.” Derek went on to say that he is under the care of doctors and doing everything he can to get better as fast as he can. “I’m currently in quarantine, and I’ll make sure I keep you guys all updated with what’s going on.” At the end of the video, Derek sent love to his fans and urged them to “stay safe.” In addition to DWTS, Derek has been flying to Las Vegas each week for his Derek Hough: No Limit residency at The Venetian. With his current diagnosis, he will have to reschedule those shows as well. View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Derek Hough (@derekhough) Next week, Dancing with the Stars will air its finale, and Derek was scheduled to dance as part of a lineup that will also include performances by eliminated artists Jimmie Allen and Melanie C. It is now doubtful that that Derek will be able to take part. This isn’t the first time Derek will have missed an episode ofDWTS. He was absent on the Oct. 4 Britney Spears theme night. Host Tyra Banks had shared, “Due to a potential COVID exposure, and although he’s fully vaccinated and tested negative, Derek will sit out tonight’s show out of an abundance of caution.” Derek is the third person this season to have to sit out due to COVID. Cheryl Burke was the first, followed shortly by her partner Cody Rigsby, who were both vaccinated and caught breakthrough COVID. The couple recovered and will be competing in the DWTS finale. Dancing with the Stars airs Monday nights at 8 p.m. ET/PT on ABC. Next, The Semi-Finals Are Here! Who Went Home on Dancing With the Stars in Week 9?

The Real Reason Dancing With the Stars  Judge Derek Hough Is Missing the Finale and Who s Taking His Spot  - 11