But believe it or not, there was one super common female experience the show didn’t cover. And it’s been bugging the cast, especially Dee. “I have been waiting for the girls to get their period for five seasons and I will never stop talking about it,” she told Parade.com in a recent interview. “I really think it’s important to talk about periods!” We, and her castmates, agree. Stevens added, “I do think it’s kind of weird that it’s something that we never tackled, because especially shedding light on things and being a show that’s so unafraid to talk about things that are uncomfortable, it’s still so funny to me that on TV, people don’t want to hear about that.” In real life, women talk about menstruation all the time, Stevens included. “More often than not, I’m talking to my friends about like, ‘Oh my God, I just got my period…Oh my God, are we synced?…I’m PMSing, or I feel bloated,’ or anything under the umbrella of things that happen for women once a month,” she said. Stevens pointed out that, for this group of women in particular, who share every detail of their daily lives with each other, “the fact that these girls never talked about it is crazy.” Don’t get them wrong—they’re extremely proud of the unabashed way the show carried the weight of being a female in the 2020s. And, actually, it all started with that episode, the Season 1 finale, “Carry the Weight,” which tackled the way women process and heal from sexual assault. “I love the ‘Carry the Weight’ episode,” Dee said. “That was a really daunting thing to undertake especially because it was our first season and the show from the very beginning subverted the expectations of what you should expect from a show like this, of this particular genre, what we’ve seen before. So it was kind of scary to approach that episode. But I think it came out really beautiful and I’m really proud of that episode.” With that episode, the stage was set for a series that was unafraid to address taboo topics (even if they forgot a few). One consistency throughout the show’s tenure was the unflinching bond between the three main characters (did they ever even fight?). And that bond exists in real life, too. The proof is in our interview with them, in which they have “jinx” moments and admit to starting a mini girl group while filming in Montreal. Need proof of how in-sync these actresses really are? Watch the video below for a snippet of a homemade music video of them covering Olivia Rodrigo’s “Drivers License.” Plus, find out where they hope their characters end up in the future (spoiler alert: they’re still together, but not in NYC!). The Bold Type Season 5 airs Wednesdays at 10 p.m. ET on Freeform. Next, watch these 50 amazing chick flicks during your next girls’ night in! 

The Bold Type Cast on Their Bond   Favorite Episodes - 58