Barrell sat down with Parade.com to talk about Wynonna Earp, her role on feel-good Hallmark series Good Witch and how she’s stayed sane during the pandemic. With the future of Wynonna Earp in question, did you approach filming the latter half of season 4 differently than the first half? How so? I think there was an immense sense of gratitude going into the last half of season four. It was a whole other level. We went to the first half of season four with great gratitude because of the fight for Wynonna and not knowing if we would get to shoot again. And then the pandemic hit. It feels like everything has been thrown at this little show, but we just keep going! There’s a greater sense of family and togetherness because of all the restrictions we are facing as a team. It’s important for everyone to do their part to keep the team safe and we really felt that in the last half of season four. Did cast spend time together off set? Is there a particular memory/adventure you care to share with fans?We do spend time together off set, yes! Less so this year because of pandemic restrictions but one of my favorite memories is going for a float down the Bow River in Calgary with my castmate, Varun. It was a beautiful day and the sun was out. You basically get in this inflatable raft at the top of the river and float downstream for four hours. We were just sitting and chatting and watching the world go by. It was tranquil and lovely! Who is your favorite character on Wynonna Earp? I think one of my favorite characters has always been Bobo. I mean, it’s hard to pick, there are so many great characters! However, I am always fascinated by the villains. I would love to play a villain one day and I have learned so much from Michael Eklund who plays Bobo about how he approaches his “villain” characters. Villains are never the “bad guy” in their own world. From their own worldview, they are doing the right thing. In their own mind, they are the hero. I find that absolutely fascinating, and I just love this character and everything Michael brings to Bobo season after season. If you could have been any other character on Wynonna Earp, who would it be and why? Any of the villains! I think they’re all fantastic and so, so interesting! I would love to have played Eve for more episodes. I loved exploring that character! Did you take anything from set as a keepsake? At the end of every season, our wardrobe department has a sale of items they are not planning to store. I always try to purchase as many of Nicole’s shirts as I can and donate them for charity giveaways. The thought of such special pieces of clothing sitting in a warehouse makes me sad! The character of Nicole means so much to me and so many fans and so I try to get as much as I can fit in my suitcase to bring back and donate. What do you think WayHaught is doing 10 years from now? I have a feeling Nicole and Waverly will expand their family. I can definitely see them being parents and I love that for them! I think they would be amazing! I can also see Nicole progressing in her career path and probably mentoring other young officers who are coming up the ranks. She has a very nurturing quality about her—she’s very supportive and makes you feel safe. I think she would be a great mentor to another generation. You’re also in the cast of Good Witch. What’s in store for Joy this season? Any chance for romance? Things in Middleton are getting spooky this season! We are with the Merriwick cousins and exploring their magical abilities much more this year! Joy goes on such a wonderful journey this season and yes there is some romance in the works! I am so excited for people to see this season of GoodWitch. I really think it’s the best one yet—the show just keeps getting better and better! What did you do during the pandemic to stay sane/busy? I have actually been very lucky to be working a lot! I also work on GoodWitch and it’s been wonderful to stay busy! So after we shot Wynonna, I went pretty quickly onto that. I really love what I do and I love working so I am very grateful that I got to continue during the pandemic. My spouse and I have been sprucing up our house a little—painting rooms here and there and adding to it when we could access the hardware store! What’s up next for you? I am just about to start filming on a movie called Cabin Connection, which has a fantastic team behind it whom I’m excited to work with! I just wrapped shooting Good Witch, and I am so excited for the audience to see this new season! We have really taken on a more magical and darker tone this season. I think it’s fantastic. There is a marked difference in the show, and I really think it’s super engaging and fun! Will fans get a sense of closure with the final episode of season 4? There’s always one more Wynonna Earp story to tell but I have to say I am very, very happy with season four and everything that our audience will witness. No matter what happens in the future, I am very happy with where we are right now. Wynonna Earp airs Fridays at 10 p.m. on SYFY. Good Witch returns to Hallmark Channel Sunday, May 16 at 9 p.m. ET. Next, 21 Canadian TV shows you need to stream.

Katherine Barrell Takes This Keepsake Home at the End of Wynonna Earp and Fans Love Her For It - 98