Finding the best icebreaker for that first Tinder message can seem like a daunting task. And, to be quite frank—the name of the game is patience. Using a clever and unique first message could minimize that wait time for a response. We’ve prepared a list of 150 ideas for how to start a conversation on Tinder to supply you with plenty of ammo to woo your next match. All the hard work has been done so you can start planning that first date! So take a deep breath, relax and get to typing your Tinder conversation starter.

How To Start a Conversation on Tinder With a Guy

  1. Hey! How’s the day treating you?
  2. I was hoping we would match ☺️. Looks like we enjoy a lot of the same things.
  3. Hey! Funny meeting you here.
  4. Hey there! Are you new to the area or have you lived here a while?
  5. Your job sounds super interesting. What exactly does being a (job name) consist of?
  6. What’s your idea of a perfect first date?
  7. I’m arguing with my roommate and we can’t agree. Did the chicken or the egg come first?
  8. Just FYI, I love the color of your eyes.
  9. Love all your pics! Where did you take this particular photo?
  10. What was the best part about attending (university)?
  11. Would you rather go on a trip to the beach or to the mountains?
  12. Hey, you’re super cute. Why haven’t we met sooner?
  13. You are way too cute to be on Tinder.
  14. Hey, I’m new to the city. Do you have any restaurant recommendations?
  15. What’s the best thing about your job?
  16. I really like that shirt you’re wearing in the beach picture. You’ve got good style.
  17. Do you prefer college football or NFL?
  18. What’s your favorite sports team?
  19. What’s your favorite thing to do after work?
  20. If you had one extra hour every day, how would you spend it?
  21. What’s the last song you listened to?
  22. What’s your favorite movie of all time?
  23. What’s the weirdest food you’ve ever tried?
  24. If animals could talk, which one would be the most annoying?
  25. Taking a poll, do you prefer savory or sweet?
  26. You are so cute, I just had to send you the first message!
  27. So what brings you here?
  28. Wow, you’re way cooler than I am. How did we match?
  29. What’s your secret talent? Everyone has one.
  30. What’s the worst conversation starter you’ve ever received on here?

How To Start a Conversation on Tinder With a Girl

  1. Hey Tinderella, can I be your Tinderfella? 
  2. OK, don’t get mad, but I’ve never watched The Office.
  3. Let’s start planning our dates.
  4. Us matching = a better love story than Twilight.
  5. Who is your favorite family member and why?
  6. What is a weird food combination that you really enjoy?
  7. Your travel photos are amazing. Where were they taken?
  8. What do you know a surprising amount of that most people don’t?
  9. What’s your signature “just add alcohol” dance move?
  10. Your smile is beautiful. What’s the best way to bring it out?
  11. They say patience is a virtue, but I just couldn’t wait to message you.
  12. What’s the best remedy for the Sunday Scaries?
  13. What do we tell our parents about how we met?
  14. Complete the sentence: I can’t live life without ____.
  15. Would you like to talk to a guy who can kill spiders for you?
  16. How do you manage to look so good on a regular day?
  17. What’s your favorite genre of music?
  18. That jacket looks super comfy. Can I share it with you?
  19. What do you think about [recent event]?
  20. Us matching is the greatest crossover since Avengers. 
  21. What cartoon character did you have a crush on growing up?
  22. If you could blink and be anywhere in the world, where would you choose to go?
  23. Tell me an embarrassing moment in your past that keeps you up at night.
  24. It’s the middle of the week so I’ll do us a favor and create a distraction. What do you have planned for the weekend?
  25. If you’d like to go on a FaceTime date with me, please respond with your schedule and earliest availability.
  26. What was the last concert you went to?
  27. How did you spend your lockdown?
  28. Alright, I’ve just gotta say it—you’re stunning. Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, how’s your day going?
  29. Which do you prefer? Books or movies?

Funny Ways To Start a Conversation on Tinder

  1. Is your name on Wi-Fi? Because I’m feeling a connection.
  2. You’re so beautiful you made me forget my pickup line.
  3. If you were a booger I’d pick you first.
  4. Was your dad king for a day? He must’ve been to create a princess like you.
  5. Are you Google? Because I’ve found what I’ve been searching for.
  6. So, come here often?
  7. I’ve been waiting for you to message me, but I guess I’ll take one for the team.
  8. Does swiping through this dating app count as exercise?
  9. Do you believe in love at first swipe?
  10. That dog looks so cute, I bet we’d be friends.
  11. Glad we matched—my thumb was getting tired!
  12. Going to Trader Joe’s, you need anything?
  13. Should I skip the cheesy pickup line and just say hello?
  14. I don’t want to flood your inbox but man—you look good.
  15. Hopefully, this app will lead to a great meal.
  16. Water you doing later? Want to get drinks?
  17. What’s a nice person like you doing in a place like this?
  18. Aww, so considerate of you to let me start this conversation.
  19. How are we doing tonight? Have you dined with us before? Let me know if you have any questions about the menu.
  20. I think you’re super cute and funny. That’s it. That’s the tweet.
  21. Are you a barista? Because I like you a latte.
  22. So, do you have any good pickup lines?
  23. Hmm, I think your message may have been lost in cyberspace.
  24. I know it’s cheesy, but I think you and I would make a Gouda pair.
  25. I’m not DTF. I’m DTGTKYAHOAFBAOM (down to get to know you and hang out as friends but also open-minded).
  26. Hey Google/Siri, how do I tell this girl/guy they’re attractive?
  27. Are you a country road? Because I’d like you to take me home.
  28. Let’s get serious—favorite Justin Timberlake song.
  29. Your hand looks super heavy! Let me hold it for you.
  30. Hey, you’re pretty and I’m cute. Together we’d be pretty cute.

Flirty Ways To Start a Conversation on Tinder

  1. I can’t even remember the last time we spoke. We need to change that.
  2. Stop sending me mixed signals and start sending me memes.
  3. I had a dream we were sexting, so I woke up and decided to make it a reality.
  4. I wanted to ask you out, but I thought I’d start by sending you a message.
  5. Did you smile when you saw my name pop up on your phone just now?
  6. I’m watching a rom-com, and the main character looks exactly like you. Except, not nearly as cute.
  7. Let’s skip the small talk and go straight to flirting.
  8. Do you have plans for this weekend? Because I don’t.
  9. Be honest. How long have you been waiting for a message from me?
  10. We’re hanging out this weekend, just so you know.
  11. I suck at starting conversations. You want to give it a try?
  12. Hey, stranger. Stop being a stranger.
  13. Flirting over Tinder is fun, but it makes it harder for me to lean in and kiss you.
  14. There isn’t a word in the dictionary to describe how good-looking you are.
  15. I’m no scientist, but I can already tell we’re gonna have some good chemistry.
  16. I can’t believe I get to talk to a real-life angel.
  17. I don’t even need a beer. I’m already intoxicated by you.
  18. I’m thinking about deleting Tinder now that I’ve found the guy/girl of my dreams.
  19.  Let’s cut to the chase. Here’s my number. Text me.
  20. So, when are we going to get a drink?
  21. I’m making the first move when it comes to messaging, so I’m expecting you to make the first move when it comes to kissing.
  22. In the mood to have some fun?
  23. I think you’re cute. What are you going to do about it?
  24. This is me asking you out. Want to get coffee on Saturday?
  25. Surprise! I got you flowers. (flower emoji)
  26. Me when I matched with you: (heart eyes)
  27. You look so good right now. I can’t actually see you, but I’m assuming you do.
  28. This message entitles you to one kiss on the body part of your choice.
  29. Just wanted to let you know that I just got out of the shower.
  30. It’s impossible to get any work done because I’ve been thinking about messaging you all day.

Cute Tinder Conversation Starters

  1. Me Tarzan, you Jane.
  2. I can’t believe I’m finally messaging the person of my dreams.
  3. Do you have a name or can I call you mine?
  4. Roses are red, violets are blue. I may not be good-looking but dang, look at you.
  5. Are you a camera? Because every time I look at you I smile.
  6. I would take you to the movies but they don’t allow snacks.
  7. Guess what I’m wearing? The smile you just gave me!
  8. Falling for you would be a very short trip.
  9. Where’s the best place for our first date?
  10. Umm is it weird that we’re both looking for the same thing in our partners or are we soulmates?
  11. I promise that if I ever hold your hand in public, I’ll happily let it go so that we don’t trap passers-by in our web of public romance.
  12. I’ve finally found you! How many years have you been searching for me?
  13. I’m so honored you swiped right on me.
  14. What’s a princess like you doing on an app for peasants?
  15. Hey! Here I am. What other two wishes did you ask for?
  16. Reckon we’re a match made in heaven?
  17. If I had a nickel for every typo I made on Tinder, I’d probably have more than 10 sense.
  18. I hope you know CPR, because you took my breath away!
  19. When I look into your eyes, I see a very kind soul.
  20. I didn’t know what I was looking for in someone until I matched with you.
  21. I believe in following my dreams. Can I have your Instagram?
  22. On a scale of 1 to America, how free are you tonight?
  23. I never thought I’d match with someone as beautiful as you.
  24. If beauty were time, you’d be an eternity.
  25. It made my day when I saw that we matched.
  26. If we went on a picnic, what snacks would you pack?
  27. I’m not religious, but matching with you was the answer to my prayers.
  28. Go on a date with me if I’m wrong, but dinosaurs are still real, right?
  29. If I were a cat, I’d spend all nine lives with you.
  30. I seem to have lost my number, can I have yours?
  31. I’m not sure what it is yet, but something about you seems very interesting.
  32. I’m not currently an organ donor, but I’d be happy to give you my heart. Check out…Best Tinder & Bumble Pick-Up LinesDeep Questions to Ask a GuyFlirty Texts to Send to a Guy