White shares, “A mother/daughter relationship is unlike any other, and I wanted to capture the truth of that dynamic and all of its complexities, rather than just one side of it. I had the title “Mothers and Daughters,” and a completely different melody that I saved for several years for a dream co-write. I keep lots of ideas stowed away for certain writers if I ever get the chance to write with them. But during lockdown last year, I had just gotten off the phone with my mom, and I was missing her so much and the song just kind of all came at once with a whole new melody. I can’t even remember what we were arguing about, but at that point, everyone was on edge/emotional from realizing we couldn’t see each other due to the pandemic.” She continues, “My mom is my best friend and I always like to say, my secret weapon. The line, ‘maybe I just need to get it wrong, even though I know you’re right’ captures the sentiment of the song, and I hope other mothers and daughters can relate. Over the years, I’ve learned that my mom is right about so many things and it’s best to listen to her before the mistake.” Listen now: Named one of Rolling Stone’s “10 New Country Artists You Need to Know” Whitehouse Records artist, Emma White’s genre-bending sound offers a new take on modern country-pop. With over 5 million streams and counting, Buzzfeed’s “Country Music Obsession” has lived up to the honor in every aspect of her career. In 2019, White announced the launch of Whitehouse Records - a label she co-owns with Nashville entrepreneur Jennifer Coyle. The Actress EP marked the outfit’s first release - a six-song project. including the critically acclaimed single, “Ten Vear Town.” She followed the release with crossover hit “If You’re In It,” and the launch of her first national radio campaign, where her poignant ballad “That’s Why I Drink” went Top 50 on the MusicRow Country Breakout chart. White’s recent  single, “Thirties,” is a tune co-written with fellow thirty-something women Kate Malone and Tori Tullier, which celebrates being in your thirties and proves it’s only the beginning of truly finding yourself. Find out more at emmawhitemusic.com. Next, do people who are tone-deaf hear music differently?

Emma White s  Mothers   Daughters  Is Simply Perfect - 90