This new track features an edgy rock-n-roll sound akin to Lovato’s pop-punk earliest efforts, complete with heavy guitars to complement the Grammy-nominated singer’s voice. The single dropped at midnight, Friday, June 10, 2022, as the first single to kick off their new album, Holy Fvck.  Lovato has been teasing this new era of rock-n-roll ever since they posted to Instagram featuring a photo of manager, Scooter Braun, stating “A funeral for my pop music.”  The latest single starts with the chilling lines, “Demi leaves rehab again / When is this sh*t gonna end? / Sounds like the voice in my head / I can’t believe I’m not dead.”  The singer is no stranger to opening up about their struggles with drug addiction, as they have done previously in songs like “Dancing With the Devil” and “Sober.” The chorus cuts deep with the lyrics, “I’m alive by the skin of my teeth. I survived, but it got harder to breathe. Askin’ why doesn’t make it easier. Go easier on me. Goddamn it, I just wanna be free. But I can’t ‘cause it’s a f**kin’ disease.” Lovato has been extremely candid when it comes to their drug addictions, and the struggles they have gone through. In July 2018, the singer suffered a near-fatal opioid overdose where they suffered three strokes and a heart attack, leaving them with permanent brain damage. They discussed the details in the 2021 YouTube docuseries Demi Lovato: Dancing With the Devil. Lovato revealed in the docuseries that they would be going “California sober,” using weed and alcohol in moderation, but as of 2021, Lovato explained that “California sober” would no longer work for them. “I no longer support my ‘California sober’ ways,” Lovato captioned an Instagram story post on Thursday, December 2, 2021, adding, “Sober sober is the only way to be.” “Skin of My Teeth” comes just six months after the singer took to Instagram explaining she is now completely sober.   The song is accompanied by a music video that you can check out below.  Next, check out the best lyrics from some of Demi Lovato’s best songs.